PADI Open Water Scuba Instructor

Are You Ready To Make The Best Career Change?

The Greatest Career Choice You Can Make: Taking the PADI Instructor Course with Jack's Diving Locker

Become a scuba instructor in tropical paradise with the friendly and knowledgeable staff at Jack’s Diving Locker in Kona, Hawaii.  The Instructor Development Course (IDC) is the training program you need to prepare for a career filled with adventure and fun!  Jack’s Diving Locker is a PADI 5 Star IDC Dive Resort with ample classroom space, custom-built scuba training pool, and access to premier open water training sites.

During the IDC, candidates work on knowledge development, confined water skills, and open water skills to prepare for the Instructor Examination (IE), a test administered by a PADI examiner.  Upon successful completion of the IDC and IE, the candidate will be certified as a PADI Open Water Scuba Instructor – a leader in diving education who teaches a variety of PADI scuba certification courses from beginners to advanced levels.

Call to make your reservations
IDC Details

  • Total cost $3,500

    • Progressive discount of $100 applied per additional student enrolled in your course. 

  • We Provide

    • ALL PADI IDC Materials! (A $1,500 value!)

    • PADI IDC eLearning

    • PADI IDC Crew Pak

    • PADI Student Course Manual (Digital)

    • Tanks and Weights Complimentary Gear Storage

    • On-site Pool and Classroom

    • Transportation to and from open water dive training sites

    • Transportation to and from the PADI Instructor Exam

  • Fees you pay directly to PADI:

    • Instructor Examination fee

    • Instructor application fee

  • Prerequisites

    • 18 years old or older

    • Medical Statement signed by a Physician within the past 12 months

    • 100 logged dives

    • Open Water, Advanced, and Rescue, and Divemaster certifications or equivalent

    • Emergency First Response (EFR) Instructor (or equivalent)

    • DAN Insurance

  • Registration:

    • To register, please call our shop at 1-800-345-4807 or (808) 329-7585 or stop by our shop in Kailua-Kona in the Coconut Grove Marketplace on Ali’i Drive.

    • We will arrange an orientation session for you.

    • Valid credit card number required with reservation and $350 non-refundable deposit required with reservation.

    • Final payment due 30 days prior to course start date.

    • 30 day cancellation policy.  Any cancellations made less than 30 days prior to the start of the course will result in a full charge.

    • Register for PADI eLearning by contacting pro@jacksdivinglocker.com

Contact Information:
For more information or to sign up for the course, please contact Course Directors, Shannon Shea or David Pinilla at Jack’s Diving Locker at 808-329-7585 or e-mail pro@jacksdivinglocker.com.

IDC Schedule:

We offer 2 schedules:   

  • "Classic" - For individuals coming to Hawaii specifically to do the IDC or taking time off to do so - this schedule is consecutive days. 

  • "Extended" - For individuals who live here on the Big Island and want a largely weekend class to be able to do along with school/work - this may be the option for you!  

Call to make your reservations

  Start Date Course Type Places Available  
13 Dec 2021 EFR: Instructor 4

EFRI
Mon 13 Dec 2021
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

15 Dec 2021 PADI IE 8

IE-Day 1 (Off site)
Wed 15 Dec 2021
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes
IE JDL Private Pool
Wed 15 Dec 2021
01:00 PM
03 hours 00 minutes
IE-Day 2 (Shore only)
Thu 16 Dec 2021
08:00 AM
05 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

13 Jan 2022 PADI Instructor-Classic 8

IDC - Orientation
Wed 19 Sep 2018
05:00 PM
02 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 1
Thu 13 Jan 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 2
Fri 14 Jan 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 3
Sat 15 Jan 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 4
Sun 16 Jan 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 5
Mon 17 Jan 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 6
Wed 19 Jan 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 7
Thu 20 Jan 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 8
Fri 21 Jan 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 9
Sat 22 Jan 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 10
Sun 23 Jan 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

24 Jan 2022 EFR: Instructor 8

EFRI
Mon 24 Jan 2022
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

26 Jan 2022 PADI IE 8

IE JDL Classroom
Wed 26 Jan 2022
08:00 AM
04 hours 00 minutes
IE-Day 1 (Off site)
Wed 26 Jan 2022
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes
IE JDL Private Pool
Wed 26 Jan 2022
01:00 PM
03 hours 00 minutes
IE-Day 2 (Shore only)
Thu 27 Jan 2022
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

12 Feb 2022 PADI Instructor-Extended 8

IDC - Day 1
Sat 12 Feb 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 2
Sun 13 Feb 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 3
Sat 19 Feb 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 4
Sun 20 Feb 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 5
Sat 26 Feb 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 6
Sun 27 Feb 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 7
Sat 05 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 8
Sun 06 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 9
Sat 12 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 10
Sun 13 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

03 Mar 2022 PADI Instructor-Classic 8

IDC - Orientation
Wed 19 Sep 2018
05:00 PM
02 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 1
Thu 03 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 2
Fri 04 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 3
Sat 05 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 4
Sun 06 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 5
Mon 07 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 6
Wed 09 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 7
Thu 10 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 8
Fri 11 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 9
Sat 12 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 10
Sun 13 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

14 Mar 2022 EFR: Instructor 8

EFRI
Mon 14 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

16 Mar 2022 PADI IE 8

IE JDL Classroom
Wed 16 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
04 hours 00 minutes
IE-Day 1 (Off site)
Wed 16 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes
IE JDL Private Pool
Wed 16 Mar 2022
01:00 PM
03 hours 00 minutes
IE-Day 2 (Shore only)
Thu 17 Mar 2022
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

30 Apr 2022 PADI Instructor-Extended 8

IDC - Day 1
Sat 30 Apr 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 2
Sun 01 May 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 3
Sat 07 May 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 4
Sun 08 May 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 5
Sat 14 May 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 6
Sun 15 May 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 7
Sat 21 May 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 8
Sun 22 May 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 9
Sat 28 May 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 10
Sun 29 May 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info