PADI Open Water Scuba Instructor

Are You Ready To Make The Best Career Change?

The Greatest Career Choice You Can Make: Taking the PADI Instructor Course with Jack's Diving Locker

Become a scuba instructor in tropical paradise with the friendly and knowledgeable staff at Jack’s Diving Locker in Kona, Hawaii.  The Instructor Development Course (IDC) is the training program you need to prepare for a career filled with adventure and fun!  Jack’s Diving Locker is a PADI 5 Star IDC Dive Resort with ample classroom space, custom-built scuba training pool, and access to premier open water training sites.

During the IDC, candidates work on knowledge development, confined water skills, and open water skills to prepare for the Instructor Examination (IE), a test administered by a PADI examiner.  Upon successful completion of the IDC and IE, the candidate will be certified as a PADI Open Water Scuba Instructor – a leader in diving education who teaches a variety of PADI scuba certification courses from beginners to advanced levels.

Call to make your reservations
IDC Details

  • Total cost $3,500

    • Progressive discount of $100 applied per additional student enrolled in your course. 

  • We Provide

    • ALL PADI IDC Materials! (A $1,500 value!)

    • PADI IDC eLearning

    • PADI IDC Crew Pak

    • PADI Student Course Manual (Digital)

    • Tanks and Weights Complimentary Gear Storage

    • On-site Pool and Classroom

    • Transportation to and from open water dive training sites

    • Transportation to and from the PADI Instructor Exam

  • Fees you pay directly to PADI:

    • Instructor Examination fee

    • Instructor application fee

  • Prerequisites

    • 18 years old or older

    • Medical Statement signed by a Physician within the past 12 months

    • 100 logged dives

    • Open Water, Advanced, and Rescue, and Divemaster certifications or equivalent

    • Emergency First Response (EFR) Instructor (or equivalent)

    • DAN Insurance

  • Registration:

    • To register, please call our shop at 1-800-345-4807 or (808) 329-7585 or stop by our shop in Kailua-Kona in the Coconut Grove Marketplace on Ali’i Drive.

    • We will arrange an orientation session for you.

    • Valid credit card number required with reservation and $350 non-refundable deposit required with reservation.

    • Final payment due 30 days prior to course start date.

    • 30 day cancellation policy.  Any cancellations made less than 30 days prior to the start of the course will result in a full charge.

    • Register for PADI eLearning by contacting pro@jacksdivinglocker.com

Contact Information:
For more information or to sign up for the course, please contact Course Directors, Shannon Shea or David Pinilla at Jack’s Diving Locker at 808-329-7585 or e-mail pro@jacksdivinglocker.com.

IDC Schedule:

We offer 2 schedules:   

  • "Classic" - For individuals coming to Hawaii specifically to do the IDC or taking time off to do so - this schedule is consecutive days. 

  • "Extended" - For individuals who live here on the Big Island and want a largely weekend class to be able to do along with school/work - this may be the option for you!  

Call to make your reservations

    Start Date Course Type Places Available  
27 Oct 2022 PADI Instructor-Classic 7

IDC - Day 1
Thu 27 Oct 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 2
Fri 28 Oct 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 3
Sat 29 Oct 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 4
Sun 30 Oct 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 5
Mon 31 Oct 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 6
Wed 02 Nov 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 7
Thu 03 Nov 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 8
Fri 04 Nov 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 9
Sat 05 Nov 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 10
Sun 06 Nov 2022
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

07 Nov 2022 EFR: Instructor 8

EFRI
Mon 07 Nov 2022
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

09 Nov 2022 PADI IE 8

IE JDL Classroom
Wed 09 Nov 2022
08:00 AM
04 hours 00 minutes
IE JDL Private Pool
Wed 09 Nov 2022
01:00 PM
03 hours 00 minutes
IE-Day 1 (Off site)
Thu 10 Nov 2022
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes
IE-Day 2 (Shore only)
Thu 10 Nov 2022
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

21 Jan 2023 PADI Instructor-Extended 8

IDC - Day 1
Sat 21 Jan 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 2
Sun 22 Jan 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 3
Sat 28 Jan 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 4
Sun 29 Jan 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 5
Sat 04 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 6
Sun 05 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 7
Sat 11 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 8
Sun 12 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 9
Sat 18 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 10
Sun 19 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

09 Feb 2023 PADI Instructor-Classic 8

IDC - Day 1
Thu 09 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 2
Fri 10 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 3
Sat 11 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 4
Sun 12 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 5
Mon 13 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 6
Wed 15 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 7
Thu 16 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 8
Fri 17 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 9
Sat 18 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 10
Sun 19 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

20 Feb 2023 EFR: Instructor 8

EFRI
Mon 20 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

22 Feb 2023 PADI IE 8

IE JDL Classroom
Wed 22 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
04 hours 00 minutes
IE-Day 1 (Off site)
Wed 22 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes
IE JDL Private Pool
Wed 22 Feb 2023
01:00 PM
03 hours 00 minutes
IE-Day 2 (Shore only)
Thu 23 Feb 2023
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

06 May 2023 PADI Instructor-Extended 8

IDC - Day 1
Sat 06 May 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 2
Sun 07 May 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 3
Sat 13 May 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 4
Sun 14 May 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 5
Sat 20 May 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 6
Sun 21 May 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 7
Sat 27 May 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 8
Sun 28 May 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 9
Sat 03 Jun 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 10
Sun 04 Jun 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

25 May 2023 PADI Instructor-Classic 8

IDC - Day 1
Thu 25 May 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 2
Fri 26 May 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 3
Sat 27 May 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 4
Sun 28 May 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 5
Mon 29 May 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 6
Wed 31 May 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 7
Thu 01 Jun 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 8
Fri 02 Jun 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 9
Sat 03 Jun 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes
IDC - Day 10
Sun 04 Jun 2023
08:00 AM
09 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info

05 Jun 2023 EFR: Instructor 8

EFRI
Mon 05 Jun 2023
08:00 AM
08 hours 00 minutes

Request More Info